Less is more

Thoughts and words
 © Gray and Colors

© Gray and Colors

Wikipedia says that:

and that Less is more refers to “That which is less complicated is often better understood and more appreciated than what is more complicated; simplicity is preferable to complexity; brevity in communication is more effective than verbosity”

I found this phrase on the stairs of an university from Denmark, quite a paradox I think. Study less I assume it means for the students that rest there after an hard exam or in between classes. And then, maybe, they see this phrase and they start to think that less time spent in the classroom being bored by some lecture means more time to live, to spend time with friends, travel and do other fun things for them. But I guess this is not the actual meaning, or at least not for me, now, in this present.   It strange how some letters have so many meanings in different person’s minds.

It makes me think of the other phrase, the reverse “More is less”, the paradox of choice of Barry Schwartz. “Autonomy and Freedom of choice are critical to our well being, and choice is critical to freedom and autonomy. Nonetheless, though modern Americans have more choice than any group of people ever has before, and thus, presumably, more freedom and autonomy, we don’t seem to be benefiting from it psychologically.”

In the end, both phrases have a similar understanding for me: stop over thinking, enjoy the little things in your life like a cupcake shared with your best friend laughing about the ghost who is hunting your house or that perfect, clear sky with bright, shiny stars, or that smile a random stranger gave you for free when you were staring at the different sorts of ice cream not knowing which one to take. Just choose one, see where it leads you and learn from your path, your mistakes, your experiences, the stories of the people you meet. Stop not living because you are too busy planning your “10 year”. Stop it, make baby steps, don’t take for granted the less  you receive every single day and smile a bit. Don’t complicate your life even more than it already is.

This is not an motivational speech, for sure I am not the right person to give one, is just an advice given at a late hour to myself and to anybody who wants to listen. I wrote it here so I can see it next time I am looking at my old posts and be surprised of my wisdom  😀  and be inspired to start another day, week, month with a smile on my face cause I do have a lot of little things I should be happy about, and for sure u have it also.

Leave a Reply

