Did you ever look death in the eyes?

Photos, Thoughts and words

“Perhaps they are not stars, but rather openings in heaven where the love of our lost ones pours through and shines down upon us to let us know they are happy.”- Eskimo proverb

I like this proverb, I like the idea that the ones we love and died are somewhere there in the sky, shinning and making light even in the darkest nights. I can’t say that I’m not a bit afraid of dead, my dead, but I am sure that the thing that scares me the most is seeing death in other people’s eyes, especially the one I care about.

I know that this is the way of our existence, we are born, we struggle to live a beautiful life and then we die, I know that we can’t know when that moment will come and that we have to live each day like is our last one because maybe tomorrow the lady of death will come knock at our door.  But I don’t know how to look death in other people’s eyes, how to overcome that twinkle of life that shouts out in the last moments.

I saw it once and I can’t forget that struggle to fight with death, to have just one more minute to make peace with everyone, with yourself. The breath of death transforms people in the most bizarre way. They are not themselves anymore, they are some kind of entities that look at you with despair, with regret that they didn’t had the change to tell you goodbye and then there’s a moment of silence, calm followed by a last look. Maybe you are holding their hand and feel how it becomes more softer and lifeless resting there between your fingers or maybe you are somewhere in a corner to afraid to come closer, however the sight is the same, the feeling of abandonment feels up the room. Maybe a part of you dies too in that moment, or maybe you find a new space in your heart to fill it with good memories about your loved one. I don’t know how death goes, how you can fight the memory of seeing it but life goes on and in the end the ones that survive are left just with the memories and the stars.

“In three words I can sum up everything I’ve learned about life: it goes on.” Robert Frost

Leave a Reply

